a good cry [poem]

I love stories that make me cry
a tearful catharsis
the ones that twist me up inside
like I’m the one that’s lost
like I’m the one being left behind
like I’m the one with nothing left to lose
I love getting so wrapped up in someone else’s hurt
that I can’t feel my own

maybe that’s why I loved us
loved you with all your insecurities
and fear of commitment
like I needed someone to yearn for
like I needed someone’s lies to believe in
like I needed someone weak enough to
break my heart
but not strong enough to mean it
I love a good cry and so
I loved you

-poem by Larissa Lee
Leave a Reply

