the part you’ve played [poem]

image

have you ever wondered
what you’ve done?
the part you’ve played in someone else’s story?
well…
I can answer that
but you won’t like the answer
you hurt me
you the heartless rogue
and me
the naive lover
and I’m sad to say I fell for every line
you spoke of friendship
held me close when I moved to give you space
called me back time and again
and for what?
this?
the truth is
you’re my enemy
the betrayer in this chapter of my story
and you will
always
play that part in my memories
when I remember what sent me running

-poem by Larissa Lee
Leave a Reply

