Poison [poem]

image

I’m drinking poison
sickly sweet and slick across my tongue
my throat closes
swells with emotions until I choke
on everything I can’t handle
feeling for you
my severe allergy
to fickle friendship and empty enemies
I consume the toxin
let you in
with the hopes that this will kill me
I don’t want to live to be stronger
there is no stronger
only harder
a doomsday bunker heart covered in rust and dust
and so empty
I hide
waiting out your patience born of disinterest
and I realize you are still breathing as my own heart
stutters to a stop
this assassin’s mistake
the belief our lives were ever tied in such a way
that you’d taste the bitter end
on my lips
before they grew blue and cold
you sipped your own wine and never even glanced
at my corpse

-poem by Larissa Lee
Leave a Reply

