Imperfection as Ideal

OMFG

Um… first of all, what the HECK happened?!? I’ve been overrun with data entry at work, so my posts have been sporadic at best (and MIA at worst).

That said, I was shocked to see the stats for my blog when I logged in today. Not only did I get 39 visitors in one day, but 30 of them came from Facebook? And 50 of the page views were for a post I did on QWERTY sigils (i.e. symbols created using a keyboard instead of a magic square). Clearly, someone shared my post on their Facebook wall and earned me some random traffic; I didn’t do it, that’s for sure!

The whole thing inspires me. I’ve been feeling the need to create, but I’ve been a bit trapped by my own perfectionism. I can’t focus enough to write a cohesive blog post regularly, so I don’t write anything. I can’t pin down a story plot line that interests me enough to follow from start to finish, so I don’t bother trying to tell any stories at all. And I can’t have videos as nice as some of my favorite Youtubers without a huge time and equipment investment, so I don’t film at all.

Perfectionism is stupid!

So my new ideal goal is accepting imperfection. I’m working with my psychoses rather than against them; outlines and organized schedules lend “perfection” to otherwise free-form creative endeavors.

I’m going to *try* to write a post each week, even if it’s just to ramble about life. The same goes with Youtube; I’m going to make an effort to record something once a week and post it, regardless of how awesome (or not) it happens to be. The only way to get from point A to point B is to get moving!

If you’re interested, here’s my most recent Youtube vlog. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

