YouTube on pause

Decisions, decisions, decisions! 

I’m trying to decide what the best course of action is for my YouTube adventures. 

On one hand, I’ve discovered I don’t like BookTube per se. Everyone’s reading the same trendy, new titles; I’ve always been a rebel, so I don’t like to read what everyone else is reading. Seriously, I’m a hipster when it comes to books! I like to read things that nobody’s heard of, undiscovered gems. The only exceptions are series I discovered early on (before their big fame), or or occasionally recommended books from trusted friends with similar tastes. 

That said, I didn’t have an issue with vlogging. My problem instead is twofold: finding focus and adjusting equipment. 

Focus is a minor issue. Kind of. I know I want to vlog the way I write; I like bouncing from topic to topic, without scripts and outlines. I want to cover various pagan and philosophical topics, but I might just babble about Guardians of the Galaxy if that’s what’s on my mind. The biggest concern is where to start, as far as pagan topics and the like. There is no real “beginning” to studying paganism, though most people jump straight at the “history” (I use that term loosely). I might have to just ramble on about the reality of Wicca vs fictionalized pagan origin stories… 

The equipment I’m using is a major issue. My laptop is crap; it’s slow and hard to edit anything on, and the sound/video quality is poor as well. I can’t make it better with a webcam or external microphone. Believe me, I’ve tried. So my options are:

  • Work with what I have. It’s lame and low-tech, but it gets the job done. My patience will be tested to its limit, and some people will skip my videos simply due to their apparent unprofessionalism. 
  • Work with what I have, amended. My phone has a decent camera, one that works better than my laptop. It’s hard to control and angle, though; I tried to use it before, when the YouTube idea first came to mind. After the frustrations of working with my laptop, I might be able to adjust; however, editing would still be an impossibility, as my phone can only directly upload to YouTube (it’s not that high-tech, after all). 
  • Get something new. I could try to find and purchase a decent camera, or a really good memory card for the cameras we have around the house. I’d want a plug for them, too, because those old-school cameras suck batteries like crazy. This option is expensive, and it doesn’t really solve the editing problem. Instead, it makes the videos easily transferred to a better (borrowed) computer, and they’d start off in a better quality in need of less editing.

I really don’t want to pump money into anything right now, especially with various events coming up that I’d like to attend. If you happen to read this and have some thoughts or suggestions, I’m all ears. 

Leave a Reply

