First day at my new job, along with some newsie news

Trying to get used to a new desk and computer SUCKS!

I started my new position today, and it meant more than just moving my faery collection. My new work station has an updated computer; that’s great, except I don’t have administrative privileges on it yet. That means there are half a dozen standard shortcuts on my desktop that I can’t delete; it may not be a big deal toward my new work duties, but it bugs the hell out of me personally!

Added to that is my sudden immersion into the job. My coworker had to leave midday, so I was thrown to the wolves for the lunch hour. Thankfully, we’re in the slow period of admissions, so I’m not overwhelmed or anything. Actually, I could use a bit more practice!

For now, I’ve managed to browse the news between students, so here goes!

Rand Paul: Texas Could Turn Blue If Republicans Don’t Adapt

It’s interesting to watch Republicans admit (and warn) that Texas is headed toward more liberal political leanings. The more obstinate and forceful the GOP gets with its extreme views on social issues, the less willing people (of all types) are to trudge along in support behind them.

I really would love to see our country’s parties return to some semblance of reasonable conversation. I feel like every event and political moment is now a soap opera full of overblown attitudes and emotional outbursts.

Former Florida State Rep. Ana Rivas Logan Leaves GOP Over Immigration, Becomes A Democrat

That’s awkward… The GOP has alienated one of their own members, and she turns around to say the same things we’ve all been saying: “The GOP of today is not the party I joined; it’s not the party of my parents. It’s a party that has been radicalized and held hostage by a group of extremists.”

New Analysis Shows Problematic Boom In Higher Ed Administrators

Working in a college, I can see why this analysis and criticism is fair. We have positions in our school that are purely assistive; they exist to make someone else’s life easier, even if they aren’t purely necessary.

For example, my old position had only a few small assigned duties. That position entered transcripts (when available, about once a week or less), sent out information packets (pre-made, just slapping on an address), and created requisitions (spending 10 minutes processing a supply order or similar item). Those jobs could’ve been assigned elsewhere; my position spent a LOT of time sitting around with nothing to do but read the news.

Internet pranksters get even with anti-gay, racist restaurant owner

Thank you, Internet! Just reading the quotes from this guy’s mouth makes me look forward to his last breath.

‘Surplus’ giraffe put down at Copenhagen Zoo

I don’t particularly like zoos or aquariums. They always have this feeling of gilded crap; cages and tanks show wear when you actually look at them, and animals don’t seem so happy.

I wish this zoo had allowed Marius (the giraffe in question) to be transfered to a wildlife refuge. Turning down that offer is the biggest mistake they made; I understand genetic integrity for the breeding programs, but they didn’t have to kill the extra breeder to make it all balance out.

Leave a Reply

