Opening a Store

It’s weird to open a store online. You can watch the stats the same way a shopkeeper watches people moving in and out. You can find out what people are looking for when they browse, largely thanks to keyword searches; it’s similar to a shopkeeper asking customers if they’re looking for something in particular. The biggest difference?

It’s all done 24/7!

We’ve created our blog (roughly). We’ve posted over a dozen items for sale, with more planned. We created a Pinterest board to allow for some circulation of our products. All in all, we’re up and running as planned.

I look forward to our first order! I only hope that it’s sooner rather than later.

In other crafty, money-making news… Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing changed the payment rules. Before, you had to earn around $25 to get a payout on your profits. Now, they do a monthly payment regardless of the amount; I’ve been given notice of $4.16 being paid to me for my poetry e-book. Considering both the cost of my book and the royalty percentages, I believe that means I sold 2-3 copies. Not bad, especially for a bunch of old poetry I wrote in high school.

I’m working on a new e-book right now, but it will be based through Etsy directly (rather than Amazon). It’s a workbook on Greek mythology, developed with a modern pagan in mind. I have about 4-5 pages left to complete, mostly introductory work; the rest has been formatted and edited to my liking. The goal is to have it ready by the end of our winter break; Etsy digital items can be uploaded for purchasers to gain automatically after payment, so having the workbook posted should earn a few pennies.

My creative juices are flowing!

2 thoughts on “Opening a Store

  1. It’s a HUGE project to get an Etsy shop up and running, but it will get easier now. I love Etsy because everything you need to function is right there; once you have your shop open you’ll find it so easy to use!

  2. Congrats on getting everything up and running! I just got my first Amazon payment notification too, and it was pretty exciting.

Leave a Reply

