News in Realityland

Sometimes the news makes me sigh. I want to read a bunch of good news, some real holiday happiness froo-froo stuff. Unfortunately, we live on Earth; bad news sells better here in Realityland. Here’s some random interesting stuff I’ve found today:

 

These 32 People Are Spending Their Lives In Prison For Nonviolent Crimes

Our prison system is a joke. People who do violent things (rape, assault, etc.) get sentences that allow them a chance to be free before they die, while people who make dumb choices (drug dealers, larceny, fraud) get put away for life. Then again, we’re the country that loves rights more than we like logic.

Kirsten Gillibrand Says Rand Paul, Ted Cruz Have ‘Common Sense’ On Military Sexual Assault

I’ll admit that I appreciate Cruz and Paul (both nuts I don’t particularly like as politicians or people) for supporting this cause. Removing sexual assault reporting from the military chain of command will definitely allow victims to file charges without the fear of retribution or of being ignored. Maybe their support will push other Republicans to step in and demand justice.

40 Armed Gun Advocates Intimidate Mothers Against Gun Violence In A Restaurant Parking Lot

How does a mob of gun-toting strangers outside of a restaurant help your cause of supporting gun rights? I mean, really! You scare everyone inside, and you prove the gun control logic true (i.e. less control = more danger).

You Are a Rogue Device

Because we’re not paranoid enough, here you go. Honestly, one of my goals (once my laptop works again) is to learn computer stuff… like how to build really powerful firewalls to block BS like this. I know the tech is there, so it’s just a matter of learning how to use it. I don’t have anything to hide, per se, but I don’t believe it’s okay to net an entire ocean when hunting for a plankton.

Random Fact

I read a lot more news than this… but I didn’t feel like sharing articles on death, rape, and violence. I got tired of it, and I moved on; the rest of my day so far has been spoken word on YouTube and data entry. Poetry is a better use of words than news today. Here’s one of my favorite pieces by Sarah Kay, entitled “If I should have a daughter”:

Leave a Reply

