How to be Human (poetic prose)

I want to see your human side.

I want to see you struggle with stress when life gets tough.

I want to see your relationship hit snags, with fighting and name-calling and sleepless nights alone in bed.

I want to see you count change for coffee and let one of your less important bills get paid a week late.

I want to see you with frizzy hair and a pimple on your nose, in public.

I want to see you in tears, red-eyed and deflated.

Being human is beautiful more often than ugly.

I want to see you through your ugly parts, through the broken pieces and super glue.

I don’t want to be your hero; I want to be your witness.

I want to witness your imperfections and admire them for the proof that you ARE human, and alive.

Watching you struggle will always remind me to be as gentle with myself as I am with you.

You will teach me how to be human.

Leave a Reply

